Formula help - Generating a list of instances where an item appears in other lists

Hi - I’m new to Coda and I’m trying to write a formula for a column of a “part” that generates a list of every “assembly” instance this “part” exists in. This list would contain the names of the “assemblies”.

Basically I have a list of parts ie resistor 10 ohm, capacitor 1 uF, transistor 2n4401… and these parts are used in multiple assemblies. I’m trying to create a list that looks for all the assemblies that contain a specific part. Any help would be appreciated.

Jamie

Jamie, welcome to the community!
Could you share an example doc and an example of what kind of output you’re looking for?

Hi @Jamie_A,

your Used In column formula should be

Assemblies.Filter(Includes=thisRow)

Let me know if you need any further clarification.
Cheers!

Thanks for your response @Federico_Stefanato. It still only prints the display of the row item’s name.

I want it to display the Assembly name(s) that the item is used in. Do you know how to do this?

Thanks, Connor. I just fixed my original post to display the screenshot. The output that I’d like is the red text. It should look at the Assemblies table and print the instances in the Assembly column that the item is mentioned in the Includes column. Does that make sense?

Hi @Jamie_A ,
two ways:

1. you explicitly select the property of the row you want to see (be aware: in this case you’ll have a list of String - not Assemblies - in the Used In column).
Assemblies.Filter(Includes=thisRow).Assembly
  1. In the Assemblies table, you define the Assembly as the “display column” (in the drop-down menu of the column)

Let me know.

2 Likes

Thanks Federico! Yes both of these work. I don’t quite understand the difference between the two. In the first way (explicitly selecting the property) it prints the value in square brackets and in the other way it doesn’t. What does this mean?

Happy that you found a way!

It’s a matter of data type.