Can't display my json response

Hello,
i’m a newbie in pack and also in Javascript, sorry :weary:
Could someone can help me to display the result of my API call ?

I managed to build my package until I got the result of my API call with a parameter.
But no matter how hard I try, I can’t get it to display in my document.

If you have any tips on how to get me out of this, it would be really nice. Thanks

Response schema :

{
“name”: “peter”,
“gender”: “male”,
“probability”: 0.99,
“count”: 165452
}

API use :
api.genderize.io

I enclose a screenshot with the document on the left and the code for my pack on the right.

1 Like

Hey Julien! Welcome to the fun that is Pack Studio! There are many on here more advanced than me but I am happy to try to assist. It looks like you need a line to to define which schema should be used for the object being returned. The Coda guide is stellar (Schemas - Coda Pack SDK) and it advises something like this

pack.addFormula({
  // ...
  resultType: coda.ValueType.Object,
  schema: MySchema,
  // ...
});

You can then tweak what you want to see as the display property or do any editing prior to returning the response etc.

Hope that helps some!

2 Likes

I just did a quick build and was able to return “male” for my name using the below. I did simplify the schema to just gender and made it the display property.

Screen Shot 2022-06-27 at 7.18.10 PM

3 Likes

Hi @Julien_BOIDROU - @Thomas_Baucom has provided some good advice, although looking at your screenshot it appears you are already setting the resultType and schema correctly. Could you include a screenshot of how you are using the formula and what the result is?

3 Likes

What data do you want the Pack formula to return and show in your doc? Just the text “male” or “female”? Or the whole object with probability etc?

3 Likes

Thank you very much for your messages!

I finally found a solution by changing the result type to String instead of Object :