Issue with Filter and SwitchIf expression

Hello Coda Community!

I am fairly new to Coda (my first post) and trying to understand why the below expression is returning “False” instead of the expected “20 - 30”.

I am probably looking right at the problem but do not understand Coda well enough to recognize it. I suspect the expression , as written, is not allowing the SwitchIf function to “see” the filtered row containing “Test Name 1” properly and instead is a list of values in the condition portion of the arg pairs.

Any guidance would be appreciated.

Below is the expression with comments for clarity.

Hey @Michael_Paul, thanks for reaching out to the community and glad to hear you’re getting into Coda :smile:

It’s a bit hard to totally tell seeing the formula abstracted from the larger setup like this, but here’s how I’d approach troubleshooting this.

Since your formula has a bunch of moving parts (a filter, a switchif, etc), I’d recommend breaking it down by sections to figure out which part is problematic. Start with each chain in the formula (e.g. the filter formula portion, then the next portion) and see what values are returned. This’ll show you what the output is at each individual part of the formula. If things look like they’re returning what you’d expect, slowly add back the next chain of your formula, and so on. This’ll help pinpoint which portion of the formula is unable to be executed, and that’ll make it a lot easier to figure out what needs editing.

One of my colleagues has a really handy doc here with advice on troubleshooting big formulas that I’d also recommend taking a look at: Good habits: how to write and troubleshoot big formulas

Hope that helps!

Hi Jasmine_B,

Thank you for the reply and suggestion! I actually came across the troubleshooting guide you suggest which did prove helpful. After changing a few things the formula worked as needed.

Posting the copy of the final version should it be helpful to anyone.

Thanks again.