Best practices for project management and sales in Coda

I would like to create a suite of tools in Coda to manage reasonably complex projects, including a CRM tool and a pricing/estimating tool for proposal generation.

I am not shy when it comes to building complex systems, but I would like some guidance on best practices IN CODA for building something like this.

My biggest concerns are stability of the system, scalability for more projects, and ease of use for my team/partners/clients.

Is it best to keep all projects in a set of databases in one document, but filter to each project, or split the projects into individual documents and merge the details back into a single document for tracking purposes?

I can do the former relatively easily, but I have some knowledge gaps to accomplish the latter (how to create new projects programmatically and have the details automatically relate back to the main document, for instance).

Thanks in advance! I would be happy to share more details about what I am trying to accomplish if these details are not enough.

I would love to hear from someone in the Coda team, as well as any of the amazing community leaders Coda has.

Hi Chris,

Good luck!!

There are a very large variety of ways to accomplish that. But I think there is fair consensus that fewer docs, and fewer tables are better.

Where on that spectrum to work depends on many factors, including how Coda as a tool will develop in the future.

At the moment, if somebody has access to a doc, they have access to all of the doc. Separating out confidential info typically was a big reason for creating a new doc. But Coda is a fair ways down the road in improving that situation. So take that into account when thinking.