Lookup/pull a value from a table based on input values

First off, I’m a total noob.
I’m trying to create a document that looks up (and displays) a shipping cost (from a table) based on values that the user enters. I would have thought that this would be fairly simple, but I haven’t been able to find anything that helps me get to that point.
I have a table, with shipping zones in columns, and weight in rows. I want to input, for example, 8 for the weight, and Europe for the zone, and have the doc look up from the table that the charge for 8kg to Europe is $50.
I suspect I should be able to use filter or lookup, but can’t get my head around how to implement it.

Any help would be much appreciated.

1 Like

Hi Paul,

Create a table of charges and a table of shipments. Link the shipments to the charges with lookup:

The column that automatically appears in the Shipments table is the one with the “flag” next to it in the charges table.

Then create a column in the shipments table and use a formula to pull the charge amount from the charges table:

The green “Region” blob in the formula is a reference to the Region column in the shipments table (it has a dotted line around it like formula references do in Excel). The pink “Charge” blob means a column pulled “through” the reference from the charges table.

Is this what you want to do?

Thanks for your help, Nick!
That’s not quite what I’m looking for.
The shipping charge is dependant on both the region and the weight of the package. I see what you’ve done to lookup from one column, but what if I have 5 or 30 and I want a value from a specific column?

56%20PM

I was able to get close using the following formula:
18%20PM
where PkgWeight is a number input elsewhere in the document, but I also have an select box for the destination, which I would like the doc to use to look up the shipping price.

I have these select boxes:
04%20PM