Unit of Measure Conversion

I am building out a recipe management tool and am looking for help with a way to convert units of measure. For example, if I enter Butter as an item in my table that has a unit of measure of pounds with a cost associated with it, I would like to also be able to use other weight units of measure such as grams, Kg, oz/wt, etc and have the cost converted. I already have the multiplication table built out for all these conversions, but need help figuring out the most efficient way to do this. I am not sure if it makes sense to do the conversion and store the data for each possible conversion for every item in the “Items” table, or do the conversion with a formula in the “Recipe” table itself.

Here is a sample doc I have created to work on this problem.
Sample Doc

Hi @Ben_Peine
In my point of view, and as an Engineer, I would suggest to always refer to a Master Unit for each type of quantity.
As european (i.e. metric system) :

• Weight > kg (but probably more grams if you work for food/kitchen)
  • Volume > m3 (OK, we can take liter or even mL)
  • etc…

Anyway, build a table like this with master unit per type of quantity. You will have one unit per type.

Then, rather than making 1000+ conversion from each unit to each unit, just create the conversion to the master table. For each other unit you’ll just have to put one only conversion to your master unit.

Then, when you’ve got an ingredient, transfom your initial unit to the master unit, and the opposite to your destination unit. Then you get a global factor you can apply to convert the quantities. For that I use lookups to OtherUnit, and I filter the unit for Destination to be the same type as initial.

If you’ve a price on a give line, the price is still the same, no matter which unit this is. If you want ratio, you can divide price by quantity one to get USD per US Gallon or USD per Milliliter in example bellow.