A newbie trying to understand Button Formulas

Hi, I’m very new to Coda and not yet sure how button formulas work (or most formulas for that matter :thinking:). Any help would be much appreciated :smiley:

Example Table

I want three buttons sitting above the table in the doc to do the following:

• Press Button 1
  • the values in column B are updated to equal the values in column A. For example if I press Button 1, column B would update to show the value 5 where the value of column A was also 5

• however, because Button 1 performs the action and thus column B does not have a formula itself, I could subsequently update the values in column B manually if I want to. For example I could change the value in column B from 5 to 7

• Press Button 2
  • the values in column C are updated to equal their current value + the current value of column B. For example the value in row 1, column C would be equal to 120 + 7 i.e. 127
  • Press Button 3
  • clears all values from column B

• note: could this Button be automated such that it is pressed automatically once the action from manually pressing Button 2 has been completed?

Does anyone have an example of a table and buttons they’ve created like this I can learn from?

HI Michael

Welcome to Coda! Hope that you will find it a wonderful tool.

I have created an example for you in the page Using buttons to Update tables in my doc.

You can also watch Maria explain buttons in the below video from the CohaHQ channel:

Happy non-coding
Piet

1 Like

Maybe just a clarification, clicking a button triggers and Action. That Action can execute a Formula.

You can use /button, or a button column, to use the non-coding version where the buttons will each trigger different formulas in the background, using the parameters you entere
d in the pop-up screen.

R
P

Hi @Michael_Bartholomew :blush: !

I’ve created a sample based on your description :blush:. (You’ll find it below)

But first, the explanations :innocent: .