Can you use column summaries in a formula?

Hey everyone, I’m brand new to coda and am blown away by it!!! I’m still familiarizing myself with the table formulas and I was wondering if it’s possible to use the count values in the column summary in a formula?

I’m tracking some job opportunities in a table, and want to tally up the number of engagements and the number of hires, and in the end, write a formula to find the % of the hire rate.

In both engagement/hire columns, I simply have a Yes/No, as seen in the attached screen.

This has to be an easy solution! Thanks in advance for any help/tips.

1 Like

Hi @Derek_Rungsea :slight_smile:
Welcome to the community :grin:

What you are trying to get is super easy to calculate, the ‘trick’ is to not refer to the ‘count at the botton of the table’ but to re-create that number :slight_smile:

For example, if the table is called “table1” you can use ‘table1.count’ and see the total of row :slight_smile:

Thanks to coda here starts the interesting part :slight_smile:

Let think for a moment that you are curious about % of hiring in different categories, what you have to write is ‘table1.filter(category=thisrow.category).count’ and only the row that satisfy your condition are counted :slight_smile:

It’s a simple concept and it gives you a lot of freedom in your calculi, if it’s a little bit hard don’t worry, share a dummy doc here and i can build some demo implementations of this concept :slight_smile:

Hope this help in some ways :smiley:

Keep making, experimenting and posting here :grin:

1 Like

Hey Derek,

That’s awesome to hear! Welcome to the Coda Community!

To answer your question, are you referring to the Summarize feature in the column options (mentioned in this help article)? If so, you wouldn’t be able to include a formula there.