Create link to row in specific view

With the function openRow() you are able to specify the view in which the link opens. While this function can be used within a button, it doesn’t recognize it when used in the canvas (and instead displays ⚡️ Action).

While the button is a viable option, it has a few drawbacks. Specifically, the formatting—it looks like a button—and the number of options may overwhelm users. Not to mention I’ll end up with an endless number of objects (button 1, button 2, button 3…) as users won’t be disciplined enough to name them.

Is there another method to achieve that ability? ObjectLink() doesn’t allow one to specify where the user’s attention is diverted and that is my primary goal. I have a master table and another view that displays only the rows that have received department approval. Although the master table would display as having no values to most users (through the use of a filter), I want to keep them in the habit of going to the approved documents view to avoid confusion.

Hi there @Nate_Eikelberg!

From what I understand, you’d like to have a button that opens up a specific row in a modal view for example. The reason the OpenRow() function doesn’t work when used in the canvas is because, by default, it references the row it’s executed in. So if it’s in the canvas, it’s missing the “row” parameter because it’s not tied to any row directly.

A way I’ve approached this before is using Concatenate(), Join() or Format() formulas to generate a URL to a specific row based on that row’s object link and then just appending the “Modal” parameter at the end of the URL. This is based on knowing the structure of the URL parameters that Coda uses when it’s opening a row while you’re working on the doc.

Here’s a screenshot of how it’d look like: