Cross-doc to client docs - filtered views for view only non-users?

Hi friends - I’m in the weeds with Cross-Doc and up against a time crunch, and would appreciate any advice.

I have a master doc for our school dept that has been collecting form responses for various teacher evaluations, all into a master DB table.

I have rosters for all user types - students, faculty, staff. I found that I could automate the creation of new docs for each student and share them formulaically using the Doc Explorer pack (thanks, @Scott_Collier-Weir !).

I’m working on a template for all of those student docs to bring in all of the evaluation rows that apply to them. The students would have view-only access, so they wouldn’t need a coda account to access.

What is the best way to push that data to each student’s doc?

As I weed through Cross-Doc documentation and videos, is the secure way really to make an individual table vlew inside of the master doc for each student? Is there a way to do that formulaically? We have 150+ students, and the roster changes each term. Is that really how businesses do it - manually creating a view for each client and THEN dragging that into Cross-Doc? :face_with_hand_over_mouth:

I watched @Scott_Collier-Weir 's archive doc with Coda Webhooks, which does have an additional cost to it. But in the tutorial, all rows went to the same doc - not sure if it’s possible to pull in the individual student doc’s url to make sure right row gets to the right place, since the table url will also be different for each student doc.

Or is the best way some method with the API? I didn’t see a way to create views of a table in the API docs.

I appreciate the Sync Tables Pro functionality but am not in love with the required table name nomenclature and so much complexity in the execution. I just need to distribute the information from one to many docs securely and consistently.

Many thanks in advance for advice!

1 Like