Extract title from URL in TEXT format

Hello,

I am new to the CODA community.
I have been studying how CODA works for several days.

I have a question that is certainly easy for some.

Column A = URL (URL format) = Data that I insert manually = www.google.fr
Column B = URL (Format Title) = Title generated automatically via the URL present in column A = GOOGLE

The problem is :
When I want to call on the value of column B, the URL (www.google.fr) is sent (at the end of the chain, the value comes from column A).

I want the returned value to be the URL title in “TEXT” format
Therefore I say to myself, perhaps, that I have to put column B in “Text” format and insert a formula to extract the title from a URL.

From there I’m stuck, I haven’t found an adequate formula.

A little help would be appreciated.

Thanks in advance.

Dear @Coda_Whim, welcome to the Coda Make Community :building_construction:

1 Like

Hello,

Sorry for the delay, thanks for the answer, but that doesn’t really answer the question.

When we put a column with the “URL format” with the display option “Title”, it is displayed the title of the web page and not the URL.

Example
I enter:
"https://community.coda.io/t/extract-title-from-url-in-text-format/29409"

I see this text:
"Extract title from URL in TEXT format"

I would like to be able to manipulate this text in another column, but the returned value is the URL, it is the title of the web page that interests me.

I am still looking for a solution.

thanks in advance
Cordially.

Hey @Coda_Whim ,
very good question actually.

Just to make sure we talk about the same thing:

1. There is HTML Title of a Website

Bildschirmfoto 2022-04-26 um 08.35.17
Like “Coda Maker Community”. Ths is an information in the head element of a website and stored in the same way for all websites. To access this part, you’d somehow need to open the website/fetch the html from the website.