Help with a formula to calculate growth rate

Hello all,

I am a total newbie, recent Notion convert. I am completely blown away by Coda itself, as well as the amazing community around the application.

I’m trying to create a template for researching investments and want to be able to calculate the growth rate for certain items over one, five and ten years. The one year value was easy but I’m having trouble figuring out a formula to make this happen for the five and ten year values.

I’ve searched the forums and Reddit with no luck, could any of you offer insight?

Thanks so much!

1 Like

@Scot_Taylor

how is the yearly data stored?
is there a single row of data for each year?

the solution depends greatly on seeing how the data is stored in your tables.

you will get the best help from the community if you can share a sample doc (with dummy data) here so we can see how the data is structured.

max

1 Like

Yes, for sure…thanks for your help!

Here’s a screenshot of how the data is arranged. If this is not adequate, I would be happy to create a dummy doc and share it. It’s pretty straightforward though.

I have created it in a way that I can just copy and paste the data from a financial website.

I want to find the 5 year and the 10 year growth rate of the sales, equity, EPS and free cash flow.

Here’s the formula that I used for the single year.

Also, if it helps, this is the formula from Excel that I need to replicate. Just can’t figure out how to make it work in Coda.

5 Year EPS ((13.99 / 5.49)^(1/5) - 1)*100

I know that I need to use the Power( ) formula but I can’t figure out how to represent the exponent.

@Scot_Taylor , the structure of your table defines how easily you can make it work for you. I remember an observation of @Federico.Stefanato in this post:

Also, Coda - as well as other relational oriented data tools - favorites a row-based approach rather that a column-oriented.