Best practices from a performance POV

Hi all,

I’m on a bit of a crossroad right now, so before I do anything drastic (i.e. split up tables into smaller ones) I’m hoping to get some input on what’s best performance-wise.

Right now I have a master table with 40-50 columns. I think about 1/3 requires simple number input and the rest either performs pretty basic lookups or calculations. Specifically, I’m wondering the following:

• Say you have a column with formula “X*Y + X”, where X is a value that you get from filtering another table. Given that there are 2 instances of X, the filter request has to be executed twice per row. Therefore, I figured it would be more efficient to lookup X in a separate column and then refer to this new column in my formula (thereby saving 1 filter request). However, this assumes that minimizing these kinds of requests is more efficient than minimizing columns. Thoughts on this?
  • How much performance impact do rows with a lot of empty columns (with and without formulae) have?
  • Does hiding columns from view decrease their impact?
  • And this probably only the Coda staff knows, might some of these concerns become trivial in the somewhat near-future because of architectural improvements?

Looking forward to hearing any thoughts and experiences regarding these matters.

Kind regards,

Kevin

0 Likes

I found out today that if I replaced all formulae of the form…

AND(expr1,expr2)

…with…

expr1 && expr2

…it completely solved the severe performance problem I was experiencing.

Prior to the change it would take 41 seconds to enter a value into a field. (It would carry on showing the old value and I’d see the message “Calculating”. 41 seconds later the value I entered would finally appear.)

After the change the new value appears in just over a second. It totally turns things around and makes an unusable application usable. :slight_smile:

2 Likes

Well spotted, @Nick_Milner.