Client portal with security?

I’m trying to build a small school management system within Coda. I will have different docs for admin and faculty. Ultimately, I would like to be able to build a portal for students and parents to be able to check their attendance and grades for each of their classes.

Being on a Pro Teacher account, I don’t have access to doc locking, and the notes on that feature says it isn’t secure because information can be changed via the API.

I’m not sure the best way to set up the student facing portal, a la a client portal. Making students users seems like it would cause issues. It’s important that they not be able to change any information. It would be nice if they could click buttons and select interactive filters for each of their classes, but not be able to find workarounds to edit or show hidden pages.

I’m looking for the most cost effective solution for our small school Any advice?

1 Like

Hey there!

I was a public school teacher for a long time. Now transitioned out and just working on Coda!

What you want is TOTALLY doable and no parents/teachers/ students would even need an account. Heck you don’t even need lock-in! There are ways to set up password protected portals on top of Coda whee unique password actually end up revealing the unique info associated with that password (aka attendance, grades, etc) and only a username/password can access the info.

That being said, it’s quite the complex set up. Before going into detail about how to create it, I’ll let you know the “gotchas”

GOTCHA: anything in a coda doc, no matter how hidden, Can with enough brute force and effort be found and seen despite any in-doc protection measures.

• Can anyone find it? No not just anyone. With enough measures you can make it extremely difficult to find hidden information inside a doc and one would need to use Codas api or different developer tools to surface information.