Database design question - how can I structure this best?

Hello community,

I am new to Coda and I still struggle with best practices around how to structure my data. I am breaking my head on how to best manage the data in my doc, so I am reaching out for help here.

The doc is an overview of all the features and elements of a SaaS platform we plan to build. We use Coda to work out the features and have an overview. the actual DB design for the actual database of our app will come later, so this is just to be able to have an overview

Instead of writing it down in txt, I thought it would be much better to have it in one or more DB’s that reference each other. Then, for each core feature or screen, we can use a DB View and the filter function to just show the relevant data for each core functionality (applies to which users, which screens do they see, which data is stored/retrieved)

What we are looking to get is:

GENERAL

• an overview of all user roles
  • an overview of all core features (5 in total)
  • an overview of all screens (probably approx 20 in total)

FOR THE CORE FEATURES

• a overview of which screens belong to this core feature
  • an overview of which user roles are active
  • an overview of all the data we gather (and from which user roles)
  • an overview of all the data we display (and to which user roles)

FOR THE SCREENS

• an overview of which user roles are active
  • an overview of all the data we gather (and from which user roles)
  • an overview of all the data we display (and to which user roles)

Ideally, we can have an exact overview per user/core feature/element which data is stored and displayed. Or vice versa see for each datapoint where it is retrieved or used and who has access to it.

I honestly have no idea how to structure the DB to allow this. I have acquired a tiny bit of familarity with lookup columns and splitting out data in different DB’s —— but not enough to use it intelligently.