Formula to delete rows after 1 week

Hi there. I’m new to Coda and am trying to figure out a formula to automatically delete a row 7 days after a particular date. I have a column called “Publish date” and I want it to delete 7 days after that date.
Right now I have an automation as follows:

1. Time based repeat every 12 hours
  2. [Combined News Budget].[Publish date].filter(Today()-days(7))
  3. Then: Delete rows
    Table: Combined News Budget
    Apply to: Custom filter
    Custom filter: [Combined News Budget].filter([Publish date]= (today() -7))

It’s working, but too well. When I run a test it deletes every single row, no matter the date. Any ideas or tips on what I’m doing wrong?

Not an expert, but have you looked formula map?

hi @Aaron_Sheinin , welcome to the community. It is very well understandable that you don’t see it directly.

I see two options: you have an automation that deletes only boxes checked and how to check a box, see below:

the second option is to integrate the function as filter in your automation like below, you don’t need the check boxes in this approach.

hope it helps, Christiaan

1 Like

Steve, I’m afraid I don’t even know what that is!

So, Christian, first thanks. Second, on the second option – is that just a two-step automation?

yes @Aaron_Sheinin
in step one you define the time : every day at a certain time
in step two you enter the code as written and you replace TheDate with the name of your column.
there is no condition, thus indeed two steps.
once you try and it does not work for you, please let me know
cheers, christiaan

Awesome. That makes me think the third step was probably causing the error. I’ll test it and let you know. I thought it was requiring me to create a third step.

As another approach, you can add a page button that will delete any row older than 7 days.
Unlike automation, this solution has no monthly limit quota.

Sultan, this is exactly what I figured out, too. It’s not ideal, but it does work.