Published docs can be a way of sharing certain pages, and in particular in edit mode you could really open up a lot of interaction. But when you do share in edit mode, you might not want to share all the lookup tables and other ‘design’ things. Since published docs work a bit different for it’s users than regular docs, could it be made in such a way that hidden pages stay hidden? I am not so concerned about people that are going to nose around can find a way (with a lot of effort) to see some of the stuff that is there, but you would prevent ‘normal users’ from making unwanted changes or get confused by everyhing that is there.
Small note: when you publish a doc in edit mode, hidden pages seem to be really hidden. I am very glad to just have discovered that.