Hooks vs Fetcher: what are the options?

Hi,

I am rather a beginner here, sorry if my question is stupid.

I explain my need: refreshing every X seconds something in an user’s Coda page based on the results of an API that I control.

I have two options:

1. My API should ask to the user where he wants to put data (tableId, columnId mapping, etc)
  2. Or the user is doing this mapping on Coda’s side, and my Pack would do frequent requests to my API., typically every X seconds as I need a near real-time stuff.

Main disadvantages of the first solution

• More coding on my API.
  • Implies that my API has access to the Page of the user, which is not ideal for confidentiality.

Main disadvantages of the second solution

• Clearly ugly. My pack would make REST request every X seconds. I wonder if it’s authorized, and how it is managed.

Ideally, I would propose both solutions, but I still have some questions:

• Is there any rate-limiting with the Fetch module of Coda? What is authorized? What is forbidden?
  • I didn’t see any docs on hooks. I would love this feature: implementing custom REST API endpoints into my pack, to avoid the ugly loop making request a remote endpoint.

Do I miss something?

Thanks a lot!

Here are the webhooks docs (I think that’s what you’re describing with hooks).

I think the fastest a Pack can refresh a sync table on its own is hourly.

Out of curiosity, how often on average does the data change? Is it like, you’d want to check every 60 seconds because freshness is important, but 99% of those requests would have no change? Or is freshness important and data changes frequently?

Many thanks for the documentation on the hooks! I missed completely that!

It seems however that there is no added-value in terms of access right to the page, as it needs an API token with write-access to the doc.