How to replicate current row in a table with many columns?

I am new to Coda but so far like its flexibility and friendly UI. Porting my PARA implementation over from Notion. I am using Addrow function to implement recurring tasks with a “Done” button. Since my table has more than a dozen columns, my newbie of using Addrow function created a super long formula

if(thisRow.Recurring>0, RunActions((AddRow(Tasks, Tasks.[In Box], thisRow.[In Box], Tasks.Done, thisRow.Done, Tasks.Task, thisRow.Task, Tasks.[Start Date], thisRow.[Start Date]+thisRow.Recurring, Tasks.[Due Date], thisRow.[Due Date]+thisRow.Recurring, Tasks.[Parent Task], thisRow.[Parent Task], Tasks.Project, thisRow.Project, Tasks.Priority, thisRow.Priority, Tasks.Recurring, thisRow.Recurring)), ModifyRows(thisRow, thisRow.Done, true)), ModifyRows(thisRow, thisRow.Done, true))

I am wondering if there’s a variation of the addrow formula that by default replicates all the fields except the columns specified in the parameters? Something like:

ReplicateRow (Table, Column_to_change_1, value, Column_to_change_2, value)

Thanks for the help!

1 Like

Hello @Haihao_Wu :slight_smile: And welcome in coda community! :slight_smile:
That seems like an advanced formula! :smiley:
If you want people to understand it easily maybe attach a demo doc the next time :sweat_smile:

I’m pretty sure that there are no way to use the formula in your way, but if you share the doc i can give a look to see if it can be optimized somewhere!

If you cannot share or don’t want to wait (cause you seems a little bit advanced for your first post :sweat_smile:) the trick is to copy the row instead of the single cell value, in this way datas can be recovered in the destination table with another column that treat the cell you just filled as the original table, so columnname act as tablename!
To fill all the row you just use that one :slight_smile:

You got the concept? :slight_smile:

1 Like