I need help with tables, subtables, and linking to make a TV Show/Movie database using the IMDb pack

Hello!

I’m brand new to Coda, and a long time user of notion. I’m trying to better understand Coda and how the links between tables work. I thought making a Movie/TV Database would be a fun way to start this, but I’m running into some issues.

I’ve created a table for movies and a table for TV shows, and I’ve used the IMDb pack to pull in the information. Ideally I would like to input the title of a TV Show or movie and have the other tables, like genre and streaming services, and industry players would link back to the movies/TV shows table to display all related movies/shows in the sub table.

The issues I’m having…

Industry Players Table
I made this table by changing the column type of the Starring column to a select list and then selecting create a new table.

• I would think that when new TV show is added with Stars that aren’t already on the list then it would add a record for that new star. It currently does not add a new record, though it does still show the star in the column.
  • When I used this same process for the movies, new options were not created.
  • Filter for TV shows was working as it, but then it just quit working. TV Shows and movies are no longer showing under the Industry player in their respective columns.
  • Why does making the columns Stars/.Genres/Steam lookups to the respective table go from a pill with addtnl info to plain text?
  • I would like to have this table add actors/actresses and directors/creators from both the tv show and movies table to all add rows to the Industry Players table.

Streaming Services Page - Netflix Sub Page

• I can not figure out how to get this to filter to the streaming service for the life of me.

General

• I would love to have one table for both movies and TV, but I don’t know how I can make this work with the IMDb pack.
  • I would like to make subtables of the Companies and Networks too.