Inventory management

Hi there,

I am new to Coda and I want to find out if Coda is a good fit to design a basic inventory management system or maybe someone already has a template.

Regards

Gotz

@Gotz_Friedrich that’s a great question. You should chat with @benblee. He created a super cool template for managing bikes at a bike rental shop. What features would be important for your inventory management system?

1 Like

Hi

Very basic features would be enough for now, but the more the better:

Overall I would say there should be a function for order/purchase recording/sales/adjustments/reporting

The details of a stock item should include: ID code/Name/Description/Type/Brand/Quantity/Cost price/Selling Price/GP.

On reporting it would be nice to see for a custom period the sales and the profit made.

Nice to have:

• Order form, linked to gmail.
  • A form for capturing new stock items (Person dealing with the delivery/receipts of purchases should only be able to access this form).
  • Invoicing linked to stock sheet.
  • Journal/Adjustments form (Limited access)
  • Stock take functionality

That is it more or less.

That sounds like a pretty big system! This is more of a full Inventory and full Point of Sale system.

I think you can do a good bit of it in Coda though. A couple questions would be;

• Are you selling online or do you handle all sales yourself?
  • What’s the magnitude of the sales (hundreds, thousands, or millions of units per year)?

When including sales, purchases, order fulfillment, client info, and vendor info, documents can grow large very fast. That’s why you see nearly all database centered solutions here. And when it’s tried in Excel, sheets become cumbersome quickly.

The short answer is that I would start building things in Coda and testing these features. At the least, Coda is going to be a much friendlier way to see stats and it’s a fantastic tool for sorting out your strategy.