Is it possible to create a tagging system with input via a form?

I think the answer to this might be no (or maybe with a workaround)… but I’m new to non-excel based programming, so could very much be missing something.

Here’s what I am trying to do:

1. We are trying to create a database of trends which our clients can access. These will be displayed as cards that our clients can click through.

2. One of the features on each card will be a set of tags. The tags will be used to filter the trend cards, helping our clients find the most useful and relevant trends.

3. The trend cards are populated from a table that is driven by a form. The form is how our team will input the information for each trend. It is an attempt to make this as easy as possible for our team members… who do not all love tables.

4. Everything in the form is working with the exception of the “tag” entry. Ideally, I would like for team members to be able to input as many tags as they would like (ie, robot, AI, eldercare, demographic aging) in one spot on the form. This would then be used to filter the trend cards by tag name. So the two needs are:

• submitting multiple “tags” in one line… that are associated with a specific trend
  • and then passing those tags into one master level Select List (basically a library of all the tags) that can be used to filter the trend cards… so the tag library gets updated each time a new trend is submitted.

I started with using a Select List for the tag entry on the form, but my team will need the option to create new tags through the form (potentially multiple at one time). For that reason, I’ve pivoted to making the tag entry a text field and have been experimenting with trying to parse a comma-separated text list and send it into a Select List. However, in the process, I either lose the association with the trend or I end up with a list of lists which contains duplicates (and is therefore useless for filtering the cards).