Multi-select list default value by lookup from other table

Hi all,

I am new to the Coda community, but I am already loving this product!
I am not very familiar with coding however, so please forgive me if this is a simple question.

I have three tables:

• Projects -
    Highest hierarchy level, can contain multiple tasks.
    Can be categorized according to work type with a drop-down list via a Lookup table from “Categories”.

• Tasks -
    Lowest hierarchy level.
    Every row can belong to one project.
    Can be categorized according to work type (“Categories”).

• Categories -
    Just a list of different work types.

I want to be able to assign Categories both to Projects and Tasks.
But if I create a Task and assign it to a Project, I would like the Task to automatically get the same Category as the Project it belongs to.
If the Task doesn’t have a Project assigned to it, I would like to manually assign a Category (from the Categories list) instead.

Does anyone have any ideas what formula I should use in the Tasks table / Category list column?
Should I use a Lookup from Table (Categories) and somehow set default value based on if the Project has a category assigned to it?

Awesome product, can’t wait to learn more about it!

Best regards,
Rickard

I put together the following that works, but may not be as clean a solution as you would prefer (i.e. not all in one column). Hopefully someone else has a better approach.

In the AutoAssign Column, I have the following formula:

In the ManualAssign Column I have the following:

And in the CategoryList Column I had this:

Effectively, the AutoAssign column would look to see if a Project has been assigned, and if it has, it automatically grabs the corresponding Category from the Projects table. The Manual Assign Column is setup just like your Category List column in the Projects table; i.e. It is a column formatted to select only the categories from the Categories table.