New row numbers for each view

I am new to coda. Please check the screenshot below:

I have used =rowID(thisRow) on Table 1 to calculate the S.N. automatically. But how can I reset the numbering for the view of Table 1? I want the numbers to be 1, 2, 3.
How can i do this? The 2nd table is linked to the main table “Table 1”.

or

The yellow highlighted numbers appear only when i hover my mouse above it. Is there a way to keep it always visible?

Regards

Hi @fei there are quite a few posts in the community about how row IDs work. The yellow highlights you see is showing you the ‘rank’ for that view. That is dynamic, since you can sort tables, so it will change depending on the view.

You can also drag and drop the rows to re-order them. The rowID() is a unique identifier for each row. If you are ‘perfect’ when you create a table and never delete or re order them, they will stay sequential, but otherwise they will probably ‘get out of order’.

I don’t think there is a way to ‘reset’ the numbering.

Hi @fei,
and welcome to Coda Community :handshake:

as @Johg_Ananda was suggesting, RowId() (Coda formulas, formula library, formula cheat sheet - Coda) is sequential for each row and keep on increasing even if you delete rows.
Rank() (Coda formulas, formula library, formula cheat sheet - Coda) is also a function allowing to keep ordering position, so you can

keep the ranking always visible

by adding a column with this formula:

• Rank(thisRow.[S.N.],thisTable.[S.N.],true)
    (assuming S.N. is RowId(thisRow)).

However, it is not clear to me what this S.N. would represent to you if the two tables should be linked - therefore it’s a filtered view.
You could have the specific rank for the view, too:

• (Rank(thisRow.[S.N.],thisTable.Filter(--the-filter-of-your-view--).[S.N.],true ))

But why this…? :thinking:

Am I missing something?

1 Like

Thank you @Federico_Stefanato and @Johg_Ananda for your reply.

@Federico_Stefanato