New Row on Top - Options

Hi,

Is there any option to set the “add new row” to be added on top besides adding a “created on” column and sort by it?

Thanks.

Dear @Alexandru_Dan,

The RowID() will be your friend, when adding a new row, this will have always be the row with the highest RowID.

Hi, Jean Pierre,

As a newly coda user, of course I have some issue adapting :slight_smile: . I’ve tried to find the formula by searching here and there and, as far as I can see, without success.

I’ve created the “Row ID” column and used this formula.

Any help, c/p, or research link would be helpful.

Best!

Is there a functional benefit that the “created on” and sort doesn’t account for? You can also hide the column.
The rowID should autoincrement to the last rowID +1.

@Irfan_Khan - Fair question. I’m just learning Coda and I wanted to see if there’s a different approach, just to improve my perception. I was thinking about situations where there’s another sorting activated by default.

Regarding the RowID i understand the process, but I couldn’t find the right formula to properly call the RowID.

i dont think you need to call it. im just using assumptions here but just create a row and it should automatically assign one.

in your example you are asking to create a row with AddRow. then you define the Table. Optionally tell it to prefill columns. in your case you chose the RowID button. for the value to fill with the RowID(thisRow).