Personal Finance Tracker

Hey!

I’m a newbie to Coda creating and am wondering how to create a doc for personal finance tracking.

I want to be able to set up:

• Individual tables where I can paste the data from my credit cards, saving accounts, and chequing accounts all separately

• Make a table that brings all that data together where I’m able to sort things into spending categories

• Make a table that organizes that data into a simpler table like below

The table below is an example of what I was using before. Each box brings in data from the personal finance table and then checks if it is within the right date range, then checks that it’s within the right category and adds all that info together.

Any help is appreciated! Thank you :slight_smile:

2 Likes

Hi @Erin_P :slight_smile: welcome to coda! :grin:

in your case i will set up the doc with a dashboard (often the first section) and then a DB section, some best practices about doc organization including separating “for user” sections and “DB” sections can be found in a must-read post here:

Let’s start with the DB section, there you’ll need a table with all your “pasted” data from your credit card, with a column added, that column will contain a “Select list” with all the type of credit card that you need to categorize.

Then, in the dashboard section you will put one view of the db table, filtered according to an interactive selector that you can add above the view of the table, that will filter all your data based on the content of that last column you’ve added before

If you can share a sample of your doc i can create for you a live version of that :slight_smile:

Edit: with a sample of your doc i mean a table (or more) with all the type of data that you want to view separately.