Switching value in column based on checkboxes in another table?

I’m a Coda novice and could use some help here. How could I make a lookup column change values based on checkboxes in another table?

I’m tracking the progress of visual effects on a TV show. I have 2 main tables: 1) [VFX List] where I create an ID for each VFX shot in the show, and 2) [VFX Received] where I track every version that comes in for every shot. Below are simplified views of these tables. In the example below, [VFX List].[Status] is looking up values from a table called [VFX Status]. Also, [VFX Received].[VFX ID] is looking up from [VFX List].

I’ve been unsuccessful in my attempts to create a formula for [VFX List].[Status] along these lines…

When [VFX Received].[VFX ID] is equal to this row and [VFX Received].[Approved] is checked, then switch [Status] to "Approved."

Ideally this formula ignores multiple versions of shots and will return a result when any matching ID yields Approved=true.

Hope I’m making sense. Thank you for the help!

09%20PM

Hey there. The easy way to make a button instead of a checkbox. Formula for the button would be :
Modify Row for the Vfx list table, with a custom filter [vfxlist].Filter(thisrow=vfxid.thisrow)
Then you change value of [vfxstatus] to approved.
You can also disable the button when approve with a formula on Disable if field that would be [vfxlist].filter(thisrow=vfxid.thisrow).Status = “Approved”

Think of checkbox as the simplest boolean system that would help you for some operations.
For changing values like this case, buttons are great.

2 Likes

Thanks, I’ll try it out!

Update! First off, thanks for turning me on to buttons. Second, After circling this problem for days, I called on the help of a friend to find the solution. It’s very close to what you recommended, Tom, but I had trouble isolating the Status change to one row. I needed extra help to figure out the “currentValue” trick in this winning button formula: