Update existing table with csv file

Hello,

I am new to Coda and I am looking for a possibilty to merge a csv-file into a table:

I get a csv-file every day. This file contains sales data for the past week. I import the first file and format it and group it and so on…
The next day I get a new file that contains the data of 6 days I already have in my table and one “new” day. I want to update my table with just the data that is not already included. I have a unique key in the file.
Can I do this in Coda?

Many thanks for any help concerning this.

Markus

Dear @markus.schlussmeier,

Welcome to the community :handshake:

My reply is not exactly what you are asking for, but a suggestion:

Why not just to copy / past the daily record in the table, since its only one item?

Another potential option with credits to @Paul_Danyliuk

Hey Markus, and welcome to the community.

Unless I’m missing something — if you’re automatically dumping a CSV file in Coda and only need to append the latest row to the table, what I’d suggest is:

1. dump the CSV file not directly into the target table but some intermediary table, and
  2. either use automation to populate the target table only with new, “de-duplicated” rows, or write a formula that would only pull the missing data from that CSV dump (but the first option would probably be better, since it would create rows for you).

Feel free to share the doc with me, I can take a quick look.

p.s. please disregard the aforementioned tutorial from Jean Pierre’s post, it’s not really relevant to your issue.

1 Like

Hello @Jean_Pierre_Traets,

many thanks for your quick reply :grinning:.
Unfortunately it is not just one item per day. It is one file containing all the sales from the start until now. I get this file every day and each day has as many entries as sales, so it differs from day to day.
Maybe I could copy and paste the entries but I am pretty sure that sooner or later I will make mistakes :wink: .