When to choose Coda over Monday.com or similar?

Hello everyone,

I’ve been using Coda for several years for businesses I have worked with and continue to do so. I have a tech background so I can build my own documents and it makes sense. However I do business consulting and I’ve come across several of my smaller clients who have expressed the need to migrate from their initial systems to more scalable ones. They usually reference tools like Monday.com or Clickup.

For me there is no comparison in these tools to Coda, but thats because I can write basic code. For a small business owner who has no one technical on their team, what would you look for as the inflection point needed to adopt something like Coda instead of something like Monday.com which now has a document editor, more views, more flexibility and proper integrations that they did not seem to have last time I checked (such as email automation)?

Small businesses don’t want to pay money for a system they don’t understand and need a developer to constantly update (potentially Coda). I’m trying to provide good advice based on the stage of the business.

Thanks for your thoughts!

2 Likes

ah. this is a brain-bug that eats away at my neocortex a lot these days.

my clients gravitate towards notion, monday.com, salesforce, excel and sheets. they see the wonder that is the magic of coda but fear the wizardry needed for the mysterious incantations called formulas, knowing that if they get a word wong, the magic goes bad and hurts their processes.

as you say, being ‘techie’ makes the difference. that seems to be the pivot point.

so spreadsheet super-users who wrangle formulas in excel or sheets, will LOVE Coda and off they go: automating the ass off everything in sight!