Ability to make comments in formulas

I am developing tools within Coda with others that require some reasonably complex formulas on columns/ in buttons / in general.

I have some experience coding in other languages, and utilize //comments quite frequently.

I would love to be able to comment like this within formulas to make things a little easier to parse at a glance for myself and others looking at formulas!

For example, in JavaScript you can make a comment using “//”

5 Likes

yes please! I would like this as well

1 Like

A good idea! I agree as well

1 Like

I feel like the catch here, is that Coda’s formulas aren’t really multi-line (they added line breaks but the parsing still seems to be treated as if the whole thing was a single line). In that scheme where does the comment end? You could use <* and *> or something, but it still seems a little unwieldy.

Interested to see what the final solution could be though.

1 Like

Hm yes that is a good point. It seems like a simple addition from the outside, but if it’s all parsed as a single line it undoubtedly is be probably more complex to add as a feature.

I suppose it may be a better practice for me to simply create documentation around the formulas I’m making. It just takes more effort to do that, and to ensure others do that as well😂

One thing you can do in some instances, is to break the formulas down into multiple columns/formulas. Sometimes you can get an intermediate representation of your data in one hidden column, then finish processing the data in a visible column. You can have several hidden columns building up to the final presented output, and each can be a bite-sized process that is easy to parse and understand.

A similar method for canvas formulas is to have intermediate formulas, perhaps on hidden pages, that you reference in your final formula.

2 Likes

In HTML you have always had to close comments:
<!- - comment - ->