Copy row from table to a view of the table

Hi!
I have a master list of stock symbols and the first column is for date and time, the second column are stock symbols and the third column is for notes. When I want to write a note about a symbol, I use a keyboard macro to put the current date and time in the first column, then write my note in the third column.

Separately, I have a view of the master table that is an archive of all these notes. Presently, I just cut and paste the new notes (columns 1, 2, 3) from the master list to the archive sheet. But I would love to be able to automate this…so everytime I add a date/time in the first column AND/OR a note in the third column it gets added to the archive view (in a perfect world, this would happen when a button was pushed or some other trigger by me).

Is this possible?

I tried to write an automation to do this…but sort of made a mess.

I also tried to do this with a Cross-Doc…but I don’t see my master table in the list to the right.

Any help you can offer will be greatly appreciated!

HI Gregg, welcome back.

When you say “I have a view of the master table that is an archive of all these notes.” Do you mean a copy in a different table, or a view of the existing table? Table entries always exist in any view of the table, unless they are filtered out.

I would like to suggest that you only have one table. This table will contain all the notes you have made. Then you create another view(s) of that table, where you put in filters, probably an interactive filter, so that you can select the time period and the ticker symbol you would like to see.

Regards
Piet Strydom
Fewer tables, more views

Hi, Piet…thank you for your reply!
It is one master table, and the archive is a view of that master table.
But I actually think that what I learned from you (and you may not like this!) is that I do need two tables…and here’s why: