Data organization for multiple fiscal years

Good afternoon.

I am looking into CODA as a solution for developing and publishing our annual budget. Our annual budget can be divided into two main sections (revenues and expenditures) and further subdivided into other detailed pages by Department. The data we use to develop the budget cannot live in CODA, as the budget is developed in our ERP system. The budget pages in the book are designed like so:

My inclination is to import the data for each budget year separately and then link all of the data together in one table to form the table that I can create views from so that the data can be easily updated for new budget developments. I would be curious to hear thoughts on data organization and the best way to proceed forward.

Thank you

HI Frank,

I have been an SAP R/3 consultant for 25 years. SAP has settled on the table structure below in their most modern (S4/HANA) implementation. It is now basically a giant pivot table.

1. Plan version - an indicator that identifies different version of the budget. There is usually an official version, and a few other versions, depending on organisational needs.
    a. Plan/actual indicator (this can be a specific plan version.)
  2. Fiscal Year
  3. Fiscal month
  4. GL Account
  5. Cost object (cost centre, funds centre, etc)
  6. … Additional dimensions that needs to be reported on. (Product, customer group, etc) Optional.
  7. Amount in Currency 1
  8. … Amount in Currency 2 (Optional)

Notes.

1. How many tables you have, will depend on your data volume. It seems like the rule of thumb for a Coda table is about 10,000 lines. If you have large volumes, I would have a table per fiscal year.
  2. a. If you have a single table everything else is just summarised views of that table.