Design help: daily updates -> consolidated update for a project

Hello,

May I know the best way to achieve following flow ?

every day, team adds their daily update into a $dailyUpdate table. I want to merge each entry in $dailyUpdate table to $project table.

$dailyUpdate table is as follows:
<projectName,date,update>

$dailyUpdate.projectName is cross-linked to $project.name

$project table is as follows:
<name,status,owner>

I want to add each $dailyUpdate row as a comment into corresponding row $project.name

Open to best practices. I am new to coda, didnt find anything on how to add a comment via automation.

Thanks,

Hi Amit,

Welcome to Coda!

It is difficult to give advice with so little information.

If the cuff, I would question why you have three tables, and not one?

Regards
Rambling Pete.

Thanks for the warm welcome, Piet. Not sure what additional information you are looking for.
Please let me know.

Our current system allows each dev to add their daily update into $dailyUpdate table.
dev selects the $project.name into a column (connected to $project table) and provides the update.

We want to transport the updates into each $project . not sure what coda data structure is appropriate for the same.

Hi Amit,

Additional info to understand why there are three separate tables, etc.

I use the “update process” below to capture regular updates, while keeping the history.

This keeps the number of rows to a minimum, while you still have access to the history. And if the devs update in this table, maybe using a view, then there is no need to copy from one table to the next. Just before each update, they need to click the button. That will move the current comment to the archive column, and allow them to capture a fresh comment. (Just thought now, when cleaning out the current comment column, one can get Coda to put todays date… A Coda doc is never complete. :wink: )