Formula for Subpage name in table view

Hello! I’m new to coda from Notion, trying to build a simple GTD workflow where I would have a Projects ‘Page’ with subpage for each project. What I’m trying to have is a template for each project where it would contain a view of the ‘Tasks’ table, that would be filtered down to just the current Project (Project 1 in this case). My thinking is, that I could then, from a project have a list of tasks for that project, but then have them show up in my main Tasks table as I add new ones.

I’ve been banging my head against the wall trying to figure out what formula I can use in the Project column to reference the name of the current note that the table view is inside. I thought that I would use the thisDocument.Name but I didn’t see that as a property on thisDocument. Can someone point me in the right direction of how to go about this in Coda? And how to do this in a ‘templatable’ way so it doesn’t need to be set up from scratch on each new subpage?

Thanks so much!!

Ko

Dear @anon74671243,

Welcome in the Coda Maker Community.

If I understand your screenshots well, you mix up the “page/canvas” with the tables.
Pls. find below a sample table with projects and a table with tasks located on one page, to understand the way Coda is working.

2 Likes

Hi Jean, thanks for the reply. So I understand that I can have two tables like in your example.

My purpose in having a canvas as a column in the Projects table, is that when I have a new project, I often have context, i.e. information about the project… details around how I arrived at what tasks need to be done, etc. So being able to have my tasks within that canvas is important. Does that make sense?

Dear @anon74671243,

I have made an update in my sample for inspiration.
In the projects table, canvas column are all related tasks to this project + some sample content related to succeed the project or to be at convenience for the people working on the project.