Gathering Table Data, Grouping by Catagory and Sum Amounts

Hi all, I am very new to Coda. I have something I am trying to achieve.

I have 2 Tables…

Table 1 is populated with Transactions
Column 1 = Name
Column 2= Transaction Amount
Column 3 = A Select List called Tax Category

Table 2 is blank

I would like Table 2 to populate by Tax Categories from Table 1.
I would like it to summarize the amounts into Tax Categories per row

For example…

Table 1
Broom, $4.00, Office Supplies
Wood, $20.00, Shop Supplies
Dustpan, $1.00, Office Supplies
Ladder, $70.00, Shop Supplies
Oil, $3.00, Car Repair

Table 2
Office Supplies, $5.00
Shop Supplies, $90.00
Car Repair, $$3.00

*** The goal here is to have an ongoing list that I will add to throughout the year. As I categorize expences in Table 1, Table 2 will populate.

I am a newbie here but If I can understand what to do in this situation I think its will open a lot of doors for me with how to approach formulas in Coda.

Thanks in advance for any help I can get.

Hey @Able_Thought ,
welcome to the community!

You can use a relationship column to make this work very quickly.

I made a short silent recording to give you an idea:

Here is the doc:

You will get used to the formulas and concepts very quickly. You can also do the official Coda course An introduction to Coda's building blocks - Coda 101 | Courses, I bet this will explain things like this as well at some point.

Best
Daniel

Hi Daniel this was so helpful and worked perfectly. It’s all starting to come together for me. Could I bother you for one more question?

Same scenario above but if there were 3 tables what would the formula look like on the “Table 2” Totals column?

For example:

Table 1-A
Broom, $4.00, Office Supplies
Wood, $20.00, Shop Supplies
Dustpan, $1.00, Office Supplies
Ladder, $70.00, Shop Supplies
Oil, $3.00, Car Repair

Table 1-B
Computer, $400.00, Office Supplies
Vacuum, $200.00, Shop Supplies

Table 2
Office Supplies, $405.00
Shop Supplies, $290.00