How to generate doc content from table?

Is it possible to generate text from a table?

A minimum example would be something like:

Table:

Text pattern:

[Task Owner] in [Tasks] will take care of [Sub-tasks]

Desired Output:

“John in Task 1 will take care of Sub task 1”
“Jeoff in Task 2 will take care of Sub task 2”
“Jeoff in Task 2 will take care of Sub task 3”

I’m really new to Coda and don’t know it’s the right tool to achieve such functionalities.

Hi there @Giuseppe_Birardi :blush: ! Welcome to Coda :grin: and to the Community :tada: !

It is doable :blush: but depending where you want to put your desired output, it might require some adjustments :blush: .

So, in the sample below, I’ve kind of reproduce your screenshot and to get your desired results, in the table Subtasks I’ve created the Reference fields [Tasks] and [Activity Owner] both of which just show those info you’ve entered in your Tasks table :blush: .
(Sorry, I’m enable to find another way to say this :sweat_smile: )

Now, on the canvas of my sample, you’ll see 3 very similar canvas formulas :blush: .

They do the same thing but one keep the reference to your [Activity Owner], [Tasks] and [Subtasks] and the other don’t and the last one creates a Bulleted List :blush: .

The formulas looks like this :

Subtasks.FormulaMap(Format("{1} in {2} will take care of {3}",CurrentValue.[Activity Owner],CurrentValue.Tasks,CurrentValue)).Join(Character(10))

Put into words, it kind of says :
For each subtasks (FormulaMap()) in the Subtasks table (each specific Subtask is represented by CurrentValue), follow this text pattern (Format()) and then, join them (Join()) using a Character(10) (Character()).

Character n°10 in Unicode is the one for a line feed/Newline (so each Subtasks the formula uses begins with a newline, otherwise, the text is just displayed inline in the formula on the canvas :blush: )

And concerning the Format() formula, here :

• {1} = CurrentValue.[Activity Owner]