How to work out total days allocated to a job, if there are multiple tasks assigned to the same days

Hi guys, I’m really new here and struggling to wrap my head around the different formulas and what not. So quick backstory is I’m a carpenter and I’m trying to set up a document to help me with my jobs, from quoting and purchase orders, to a schedule/gantt chart and a list of all the tasks involved in a renovation etc.
Here is my struggle:
I’ve made a task list of everything involved and have start dates, end dates and have assigned each task to the respective trade such as the carpenter, plumber, electrician etc.
What I am wanting to do is calculate the total number of days the carpenter will be on the job, but my issue is there are some tasks that I have assigned on the same day as other tasks. So there are multiple entries on the same day so I can’t just simply add the duration together.

What I was thinking was that I would have to write something (please excuse my coding language or lack thereof… this isn’t my profession) along the lines of:
Sum(Tasklist.trades=“Carpenter”.If(Tasklist.Start=MULTIPLE VALUES and Tasklist.End=MULTIPLE VALUES, Count(First(Duration()))))

Really hope that makes sense. I feel a bit out of my depth haha!
Thanks in advance!
Joel

Dear @Joel_Worth,

Welcome :handshake:

In the table: “Task-1” you will be able to add new tasks and or make corrections accordingly your needs.

At the top you will be able to filter by:

1. Done or Not done task
  2. Select one or more projects
  3. And select one or more as you call “trades”

In the duration column at the bottom you can see the sum of the hours selected

Thanks for the great question. This is a really common pattern and one where Coda can really shine, so I took a moment to write up a more generic answer (and compared it a bit to the spreadsheets approach).

1 Like

Thanks Shishir,