Using a Canvas to display a Table within a Column, and generating that Table based on the row value of another Column in the main Table

Hi all,
I’m very new to Coda but am finding it very useful and intuitive. I do occasionally run into a roadblock when working with formulas, but usually can work out what I’m trying to accomplish.

I’ve got a scenario right now that I’m continuing to puzzle over, and thought it’s a good time to reach out to the community for some input, or a different way of thinking about my problem.

BACKGROUND:
I’ve got a spreadsheet template used for keeping track of fiber optic cable usage on projects. You can think of it as having two sections:

1. Cable Schedule
    This table is basically an index of all the cables in use—Origin and destination, cable length, is it a 12-strand or 24-strand cable?

2. Strand Assignments
    This is a set of sub-tables, one for each cable. It holds information for each strand of the cable—What kind of signal is carried, what hardware is it connecting to on each side, is it cross-patching to another cable?

QUESTION:
I figured Coda could do this better than the manual spreadsheet method, and I’m off to a good start with it. I’ve got one master table that holds all of the cables, and then a Canvas Column for strand assignments. I’ve got a template for that table created as a subpage of my attribute tables page, and so I can set the Value for new rows as that page. What I’d REALLY LIKE to do is to have a different strand assignments table based on whether the Cable Type for that row is a 12-strand or 24-strand cable. I’ve tried using a filtered view, or creating two separate templates and using an if
formula, but am not finding success.

FINAL THOUGHTS:
It occurs to me as I type this—the Value for new rows formula calculates when you create the new row, before you’ve even defined the cable type on that row.