Organizing Docs

I have been using Notion extensively and am just getting into Coda. I have created a few documents and it looks like this could be messy, very quickly. :slight_smile:

Is there a way to organize my documents into folders? For example, I would like to be able to create a Clients folder with subfolders for documents created for each client.

2 Likes

@Garland_Coulson_Captain_Time Welcome to Coda!!! :grin: Moriah here, I’m a software engineer on the team here.

This is a GREAT point and feedback we’ve heard from a bunch of folks – so you’re definitely alone. We’ve had some great conversations at Coda about when we might be able to incorporate some deeper sub-folder structures in docs, so no promises on timing but keep an eye out because it is on our radar. :eyes:

In the meantime, hopefully you have discovered that for now you can create at least one level of folders in any Coda doc: to make a folder, click “+ New” at the bottom of your sections list and then select “folder.” From there you can drag existing doc sections into your folders or add new ones.

Hope this tides you over for now until we have even more folder organization available for you! Keep the feedback and questions coming, we love hearing from you.

Moriah

@Garland_Coulson_Captain_Time I’m rereading your question, and realized you may actually be asking about folders in your doc list, whereas I was replying about additional sub-folders for sections inside a single doc. We actually will be releasing something soon that’s actively in development which will allow you to add more organization into your overall doc list. :smile: We’ll make sure to give you a heads up when that’s available, as well.