How to create parent templates with child templates with Coda

Hi everybody,

I am new to Coda and I’m unsure it can do what I am looking for, I’m coming from Notion and Google sheets.

I would like to create several row workflow templates, made of a row for each project.

Most column headers correspond to a single task with a drop-down single or multiple list to choose from: to do, in progress, done.

First question: Can these headers be “reused” across the different workflows in order to display them in a master sheet? For ex. I have a “Review” column which I will use in workflow A and C and I would like to be able to know what projects-workflows are under review even if the workflow/table is different.

Second q.: can a specific cell assigned to a specific user? Is it possible that the user only sees that cell and not the whole row workflow/table?

One or two columns should “refer to” child tables/task lists from which they display the results (f.ex. 30% 100% or in progress, done). Can this be done? Is it bidirectional?

Third q. the users to whom the child table is assigned, should see only that one and not the whole row workflow/table. Is this possible?

Finally, the question on the template (this is why I am looking into Coda after having tried in Notion without success). Can such a “row-template” with child-tables referred in some of its cells, can be saved as a template (with pre-defined assignees for ex.)?

Would using that template create both a row with its columns and the corresponding child templates linked to the corresponding cells?

Thank you in advance!

Hey @Earendil, thanks for reaching out to the community :smiley:
If you haven’t already seen it, I’d recommend taking a look at this community post: Project Manangement with Folding of parent items
This seems like a good workaround for what you’re trying to do!

HI