Hack to filter lots of data

Hi…
I am new to Coda and not particularly savvy when it comes to formulas and filters…but I figured out something that might be useful for others:
I have a large database of disconnected information, sort of call notes from every call I do. I have found Coda to be better overall at handling this kind of info than Evernote or Keep.
I wanted to be able to quickly filter through all the records of calls to get to records with one person or one organization.
I created a view that shows all records in the database, but the search function in the upper left makes you go through the records one of a time. I wanted a filter, instead.
So I did a couple of things:

1. I created a new column called Full_text with a formula that combines all the relevant info into this column separated by commas and in lower case: Lower(Who+", “+What+”, "+[Notes (Paste from below)])
  2. Then I figured out how to filter this info, with a filter like this: Full_text.RegexMatch("")
  3. This filter is case sensitive, which is why I converted everything to lower case in the new column. (I think this is why the new column with all text converted to lower case is necessary)
  4. I use Keyboard Maestro, so I made a keyboard shortcut for this filter that pastes Full_text.RegexMatch("") and then arrows back two spaces to put the cursor between the “” so I can trigger my keyboard shortcut and just start typing what I want to filter.
    Works great for me and it was fun to figure out, I hope it helps others.
    Overall, Coda has been an incredible gift for us.
    Gregg
17 Likes

Neat trick @Gregg_Stebben, thanks for sharing it! Would you mind posting a screen capture of the result, or even sharing a sample doc?